The Web Gambit

Thoughts on Web Development

I’m now a Telligenti!

I had been sitting on this news until things were more finalized, but now I think it’s time to let the cat out of the bag.  I have recently accepted a position with Telligent as a Software Development Engineer in their Services division!

Telligent is well known for their community-based platform, Community Server. For those who haven’t heard of it, Community Server is the premier platform written in .NET for blogging, forums, file, and photo sharing and it powers many Community-based web sites such as the ASP.NET Forums, MSNBC Blogs, and many others.

As an SDE for the Services team, I will be working on projects for Telligent’s clients doing both custom development as well as customization of Community Server to enable clients to engage their customers more directly through sites that help build communities rather than solely push out content. 

I think this type of customer interaction will become more important as companies try to differentiate themselves by opening a more direct dialogue with their customers.  Companies utilizing this approach are proving to be more successful than those companies that rely solely on market indicators and statistics to determine what their customers really want.  Telligent’s CEO, Rob Howard, seemed to echo the same sentiment as he spoke about his vision for Telligent recently on DotNetRocks.

I want thank both Jason Alexander, Telligent’s CTO, and Scott Dockendorf, Telligent’s Director of Services, for providing me with this opportunity and making the hiring process as smooth as possible. 

Jason told me that my blog was one of the reasons he reached out to me.  You never know where your blog can lead you.  So if you’re a developer looking to get noticed, ditch your flair, and start blogging!

7 responses to “I’m now a Telligenti!

  1. David O'Hara May 11, 2007 at 1:05 pm

    Congratulations man. I’m very happy for you and look forward to the great things I know you’ll do there.

  2. Karthik May 11, 2007 at 2:05 pm

    Thanks Dave.  Coming from you that means A LOT! :)

  3. jayson knight May 12, 2007 at 2:05 am

    I had a feeling something was up…fantastic move on Telligent’s part. Time to move your WP blog over to CS?
    Congrats!

  4. Karthik May 12, 2007 at 8:05 am

    Thanks all!
    yeah I think I may have to dogfood it and move over to CS at some point!

  5. jayson knight May 12, 2007 at 1:05 pm

    There’s a WP BlogML converter out…get hoppin’!

  6. Ash Bhoopathy May 23, 2007 at 10:38 pm

    Wow… I stop reading for a bit while school's killing me, and you've gone and got a new gig.  Congratulations man!   That's great news, I think you'll really enjoy the smaller, startup environment.  
    I'm very excited to see how it goes…

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

