The Web Gambit

Thoughts on Web Development

Getting the most out of your Ipod

After having an Ipod for over a year, I am only now getting the most out of it. This is partly due to obtaining newer music and also because of my purchase of an Ipod Integration Adapter for my Volkswagen Jetta. I looked into FM Transmitter options but being something of an audiophile, I didn’t want to spend $100+ and get low quality sound out of my Ipod. My best option was an Ipod Integration kit that directly connects to the factory radio, enables steering wheel controls, and charges the Ipod while driving.

I did a lot of research on the VW Vortex Forums to make sure everything was done right. Enthusiast forums are great places to find information on your particular car for everything from maintenance, common problems and solutions, and of course great aftermarket toys. Forums exist for just about every model of car out there so I highly recommend every new car owner to take some time out to research by looking at the enthusiast community for the car. The installation was fairly straightforward (took about 3 hours) and I didn’t run into any snags while doing it.

Now that my Ipod was connected up I had to find out more about how to manage my playlists. Thus far I had been doing the standard manual playlist management but after finding this great article, I have realized the power of smart playlists. The article is pretty lengthy, but the key point is that you can rate any song on your Ipod during playback by clicking the middle button twice and assigning a rating. Once most of your songs are rated, you can take advantage of Smart Playlists by creating them in Itunes according to your ratings. Read the article for more info.

2 responses to “Getting the most out of your Ipod

  1. Karthik January 9, 2007 at 2:01 pm

    haha…pictures don’t really do the setup justice.  The ipod sits in the glove box and the CD player just shows CD1, CD2, CD3, CD4, CD 5, CD 6 since its sort of a "hacked" external cd interface.  No ID3 song titles for me :(

  2. Ash Bhoopathy January 9, 2007 at 2:01 pm

    That’s awesome.   What, no pictures of the new iPod with Jetta, or pictures of you installing it? :)

