The Web Gambit

Thoughts on Web Development

My first week at Telligent

A few friends and colleagues have asked me how my first week of Telligent went.  And I assume some of my readers may be wondering the same thing.

In a nutshell, my first week at Telligent was excellent.  I’ve been given some new responsibilities, a larger role at a major Dallas area client, and some exciting career goals over the next few months.  And that has just been in the first week!

My first project at Telligent will be my first foray into consulting engagement management and it will allow me to really take ownership of a consulting engagement.  While I was at Deloitte and during my stint as an independent consultant, I worked closely with engagement managers and client managers so I’m very familiar with the process.  I also have a amazing mentor in my good friend and former supervisor, Manu Puri, who has been very helpful in advising me on some of the engagement management approaches that have worked for him in the past.

The engagement also opens up some great opportunities for Telligent as there is a lot of potential for future projects with this client that may possibly build some excellent qualifications for Telligent around new technologies like CardSpace and Windows Presentation Foundation.  Being involved in such projects would do a lot for my personal goals as well so I’m eager to see what can be done.

As you might have noticed, Telligent has done a lot to help me scratch my Consulting Itch, something that I haven’t scratched in a while.  I’ve been scratching my Coding Itch for the past year, so it’s been a nice change of pace for the short term.  However, I don’t plan on ignoring my Coding Itch for too long either!

My take on Telligent as a whole is that it is a great place to work and has some very smart people.  The environment is very welcoming and easy going, but not truly relaxed.  Everyone works extremely hard and is very motivated to help the company succeed.  However, they do take the time to have some fun and not take themselves too seriously.  Additionally, the company is very family oriented as well, which makes long terms prospects much more viable than with many other technology companies.

I had initially been a bit concerned that I’d have some difficulty getting accustomed to Telligent’s startup-like environment.  Especially after working primarily in Hierarchical, Corporate environments.  But I think I took to it like a fish to water and I immediately felt very comfortable. 

At first, I was a bit intimidated working for people like Rob Howard, who I still see as something of a .NET Demigod.  But I realized very quickly that despite having many brilliant people, Telligent still has its challenges like any other company and plenty of opportunity for motivated individuals to excel and make it more successful.  I was also very impressed by the modest brilliance I’ve seen in the people I’ve been working with and I truly appreciated their approachability.  There are very few closed doors in the Telligent hallways and most people are eager to lend a helping hand for those who need it.

To sum it up, it was a great first week and I’m looking forward to a long and rewarding career with Telligent.  They are still hiring quite a bit, so if you’re interested, be sure to apply!

5 responses to “My first week at Telligent

  1. Rob Howard June 17, 2007 at 2:21 pm

    Glad your part of the team!

  2. jayson knight June 18, 2007 at 2:08 am

    Sounds like such a cool place to work and be a part of…if only I lived in Dallas ;-).

  3. Scott Dockendorf June 18, 2007 at 10:03 am

    We're psyched to have you on the team!

  4. Ash Bhoopathy June 27, 2007 at 10:59 am

    That's awesome man, glad you're enjoying your new gig. Best of luck and hope to hear more about it.

  5. Tom July 5, 2007 at 8:46 pm

    Karthik, you are a great addition to the team. We look forward to watching you progress and defining your presence within Telligent.

